What are the Five Pillars of Islam For Kids

The Five Pillars of Islam are very important for Muslims. They give the basic concept of Islam and worship and make the foundation of our faith and practice. These are actually the five obligations of Islam that all Muslims must fulfill. We all should become practicing Muslims but it is not possible unless we know what are the five pillars of Islam? Following these 5 pillars is essential and gives the identity of being Muslim.

5 pillars of Islam in order are

  • Shahada
  • Salah
  • Zakat
  • Sawm
  • Hajj

Shahada (Faith)

 This is the expression of faith in Allah and Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon Him). This declaration is in the form of “La ilaha illallah, Muhammadur rasulullah,”. It means that “There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is Allah’s messenger.”

Salat (Prayer)

This is the ritual prayer that Muslims perform five times a day. Allah Muslims must know praying and the time of the prayers. We have to offer Salah by facing the Kaaba in Mecca. 

Zakat (Charity)

It is one of the important 5 pillars of Islam. According to this pillar all Muslims must pay Zakat or charity. This is a specific amount from the wealth of a person. The rate at which we have to pay Zakat is typically 2.5% of savings and investments annually. The concept of Zakat is to redistribute the wealth to purify it. 

Sawm (Fasting)

Muslims must fast during the month of Ramadan. During fasting, Muslims have to abstain from eating food, drink anything. They have to abstain from some specific physical needs from Fajr to Maghrib. Fasting brings self-discipline and self control in the lives of Muslims. It makes them spiritually strong.

Hajj (Pilgrimage)

 Hajj is obligatory on those Muslims who are financially strong. They have to undertake a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in life. Hajj takes place Islamic lunar month of Zilhaj and includes some rituals such as circumambulation of the Kaaba and more. When Muslims performs Hajj, they submit themselves to the will of Allah

Importance of Five Pillars of Islam

Islam 5 pillars are very important for Muslims for many reasons such as

  • Muslims get Spiritual Foundation through these 5 pillars
  • Understanding and following these pillars of Islam increases the faith of Muslims in Allah and commitment to Islam.
  • Muslims feel more passion for worship and charity.
  • Muslims also feel for other human beings.
  • These pillars help Muslims to understand their moral and ethical responsibility in the community.

Each pillar has its own importance. We cannot ignore any one with our own choice. It is important to believe in these pillars as a Muslim. Monotheism and believing Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) as the final messenger of God is the foundation of Islam. These pillars of Islam shape the lives of Muslims and their practices and actions according to Islam. We should give importance to five pillars of Islam for kids. All Muslim children should also consider learning about these pillars.

Children must learn their daily prayers (Salat) and also offer the prayers. They should also learn what fasting (Sawm) during Ramadan is. They must also understand the importance of giving charity (Zakat) to the needy people. At the last but very important, children should also learn about the pilgrimage to Mecca (Hajj) and its importance.

Children must understand their religion and learn about their as Muslims. They understand that they should participate in their religious practices. They learn the acts of worship, 5 prayers and fasting during the month of Ramadan. It is very important for every one of us, including children, to know the culture of Islamic community. 

Similar Posts